2021

I look at my darkened landscape. I am not fearful, only uncomfortable, imagining myself in this situation that my paintbrush has helped form. A single light beams strong and steady against a heavy rising façade, towering its concrete walls over the quiet street below. Through Painting I realise I can come back again and again, forming and reforming my surroundings, much like the weather controlling its effect on my phenomenological memories. An environment I experience first-hand is transformed into somewhere unfamiliar and sublimely uninviting. Yet I know that I can step out of its gloomy confines, back into the familiarity and safety of the studio’s white washed walls.

A collection of work from 2021 including works shown in solo exhibition ‘In Resonance’ in ArtisAnn, Belfast.

Leave a comment